The Panama Laugh is…a Best-Seller!

Borderlands Books at 866 Valencia Street in San Francisco was my neighborhood bookstore for bazillions of years. It’s one of the largest science fiction-fantasy bookstores in the world (possibly the largest at this point, I’m not 100% sure).

The location is gorgeous, gorgeously-appointed, luxurious, low-key, and most importantly packed with great books. The staff is gracious, chill and knowledgeable about the fields of science fiction, fantasy, and horror, and often about associated genres like noir.

And my novel The Panama Laugh is on the Borderlands Books trade paper best-sellers list for September, according to the Borderlands Books newsletter and Hellnotes.com.

It’s wedged between William Gibson’s Zero History and Max Brooks’s World War Z…two of my favorite writers.

In fact, when I was writing the scene in the middle of Part II of The Panama Laugh with the busted shipping containers, I had some of World War Z‘s amazing subtexts about of globalization in mind.

I’m reading at Borderlands on October 15 as part of Litquake’s Litcrawl, with Ray Garton, Richard Kadrey and Naamen Tilahuh, by the way. Litcrawl readings are some of the funnest I’ve ever been to. So come see us, hear some zombie fiction and argue with me over whether “funnest” is a word.

2 thoughts on “The Panama Laugh is…a Best-Seller!

  1. Jeff

    Congrats. I know it will be and lead to more successes.
    Dante was a good choice.

    You know what? I found your blog and writing originally while researching “Memoirs of a Gnostic Dwarf”.

    Today I remembered the coincidence with Dante and your post on Sebastian Seung.
    And that was shortly after I had the read the first chapter of “How to Build a Universe That Doesn’t Fall Apart Two Days Later” today.

    http://www.google.com/search?gcx=c&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=%22i+hope+I+will+arrive+soon%22+filetpe%3Apdf

    Read it. I wouldn’t be surprised at all if your GPS did start quoting Corinthians at you.

    Reply
  2. thomasroche Post author

    Jeff — That is awesome. I am really stoked to hear it. I love the internet, and I think when equipment does start quoting Corinthians it is likely to be an RSS feed….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

